Resources

In researching the careers of MPs who sat in the Commons between 1832 and 1868, and the electoral histories of the constituencies they represented, we make extensive use of online resources. On this page we have compiled a list of the some of the best websites we use that are free to access. This list is by no means exhaustive and will be frequently updated, so if you know of a resource we should feature, please leave us a comment below or contact us via our Twitter feed (@TheVictCommons).

BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

History of Parliament Online http://www.historyofparliamentonline.org/ The main History of Parliament site, providing access to all the material published to date, including the House of Commons, 1820-32 volumes. For access to the 1832-68 volumes (in preparation) click here.

Australian Dictionary of Biography adb.anu.edu.au/

Canadian Dictionary of Biography http://www.biographi.ca/index-e.html

New Zealand Dictionary of Biography http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/biographies

Welsh Biography online http://yba.llgc.org.uk/en/index.html

Dod’s parliamentary companion (for 1847, 1852, 1854-9) http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000548527

19TH-CENTURY PRIMARY SOURCES

Acts of Parliament http://alsatia.org.uk/site/2014/02/resource-acts-of-parliament/

British History Online http://www.british-history.ac.uk/

Commons Journals online http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm/cmjournal.htm

19th-century British pamphlets http://www.britishpamphlets.org.uk/

Gentleman’s Magazine http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000542092

Hansard online http://hansard.millbanksystems.com/

London Gazette http://www.london-gazette.co.uk/

Proceedings of the Old Bailey http://www.oldbaileyonline.org/

Queen Victoria’s Journals  http://www.queenvictoriasjournals.org

Welsh Newspapers Online http://welshnewspapers.llgc.org.uk/en/home

HISTORICAL DATABASES

Historical Directories http://specialcollections.le.ac.uk/cdm/landingpage/collection/p16445coll4

Legacies of British Slave-Ownership http://www.ucl.ac.uk/lbs/

British Industrial History http://www.gracesguide.co.uk/Main_Page

Leigh Rayment’s Peerage http://www.leighrayment.com/

Church of England Clergy http://ccedb.cch.kcl.ac.uk/index.html

Sandhurst Collection http://archive.sandhurstcollection.co.uk/

Royal Navy Officers http://www.pdavis.nl/SeaOfficers.php

Inner Temple Admissions http://www.innertemplearchives.org.uk/index.asp

Cambridge University Alumni Database http://venn.lib.cam.ac.uk/acad/2016/search-2016.html

Lost Country Houses http://lh.matthewbeckett.com/

Landed families http://landedfamilies.blogspot.co.uk/

MAPS AND TOPOGRAPHY

Local Histories http://localhistories.org/

Vision of Britain http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s